Was the Toronto community of Brockton named for War of 1812 hero Sir Isaac Brock?
Well, no. As Stephen Otto tells us in a new article for the Simcoe’s Gentry project, it was named for Sir Isaac’s not-so-famous cousin James Brock who was granted Park Lot 30.
An officer with the 49th Regiment of Foot and private secretary to his cousin during his tenure as Administrator of Upper Canada, James Brock has his own fascinating War of 1812 story.
James didn’t spend much time in the fledgling Town of York, in fact, probably as little as he could get away with. His wife Susannah Lucy Quirke (Short) Brock, even less, but it was her actions and acumen that ensured the name Brock would live on in Toronto.
We’re thrilled to have author (and remarkable historian) Stephen Otto and his colleagues at the Friends of Fort York and Garrison Common as contributors to the Simcoe’s Gentry project.
Wonderful things planned for Historic Fort York all through 2012. Be sure to visit.