website security

Toronto Branch OGS

Welcome! We are the Toronto Branch of the Ontario Genealogical Society, a not-for-profit organization of family historians founded in 1967, with over 600 members in Toronto and worldwide. Toronto Branch is run by enthusiastic, engaged volunteers, with leadership from an elected Executive.

Some of our members have Toronto roots, others live in Toronto. We have ancestors around the world. We share a passion for family history and discovery. Some are very experienced in genealogy and others just beginning this fascinating pursuit. We welcome your participation, whatever your level of experience and wherever your family interests might lie. You are very likely to find someone with common interests.

Here are a handful of key objectives:

  • Education in genealogical techniques and record sources, through courses and workshops
  • Making Toronto and area records of genealogical and historical interest accessible
  • Stimulation through monthly meeting presentations from accomplished speakers
  • Mutual support for member research interests, including Special Interest Groups

How we are run:

The Toronto Branch operates independently, subject to the guidelines of its parent organization, the Ontario Genealogical Society (OGS), and has its own charter and bylaws. We draw on OGS for administrative support. OGS is a publicly registered charity and must meet government regulatory guidelines and our Branch charter reflects duties required of us in support of OGS compliance.

The Branch is governed by an Executive Committee, which consists of officers and members-at-large. Executive Committee members are elected by Branch members at each annual general meeting (AGM) for a term of one year, with the possibility of re-election. The Executive presents a short report of its activities at each AGM, including its unaudited financial statements.

To access the Toronto Branch charter and bylaws, click on the links below:
Toronto Branch, OGS Charter (PDF file)
Toronto Branch Bylaws as amended to 29 May 2017 (PDF file)

Executive Members to May 2019:

Chair: Connie Culbertson

Vice Chair: Ann Brown

Past Chair: VACANT (unelected appointment)

Treasurer: Valerie O’Brien

Recording Secretary: Ann Rexe

Member at Large: Michael Nettleton